FMPE Board of Directors

Img 1027  copy

The Foundation for Medical Practice Education (FMPE) is a Canadian non-profit organization dedicated to the development, production, and evaluation of educational programs for community-based family medicine and general practitioners. It was incorporated in 1997. 


Dr. Sarah Chritchley - Representing British Columbia, Alberta & Yukon
Dr. Kristin Heinrichs - Representing Manitoba, Saskatchewan, NWT & Nunavut
Dr. Tony Gabriel - Representing Atlantic Region
Dr. Ed Hirvi -  Representing Academic Chairs of Family Medicine
Dr. Ryan Hunt - Representing Québec
Mr, Bron Vasic - Director-at-Large
Dr. Justin Weresch - FT appointee at a Canadian University (McMaster)
Vacant – Ontario
Vacant - FT appointee at a Canadian University


Dr. Tony Gabriel - Chair
Dr. Sarah Chritchley - Vice Chair
Dr. Heather Armson - President and Executive Director
Ms. Erin McLeod - Secretary & Treasurer


Our mission is to provide practicing family physicians with the means to maintain and enhance their professional knowledge and competence and to integrate that knowledge into their practices through the development, dissemination and evaluation of educational approaches and materials that are learner-centred and practice based, using evidence-based educational principles.

To help us fulfill this mission, we continue to create and maintain liaisons with external organizations interested in continuing medical education, in order to further the goals and objectives of The Foundation. Overall education and educational approaches have been, and will continue to be, developed by family physicians.