Menu Close

Resident Scholarship Award

PBLP Family Medicine Resident Scholarship Award Description

The PBLP (Practice-Based Learning Program) Family Medicine Resident (FM) Scholarship Award recognizes outstanding scholarly projects by FM Resident(s) around small group learning through research, quality improvement, and/or education program development.

Projects that align with the following goals of Residency Practice-Based Learning will be favoured:

  • Embedding evidence-based educational principles
  • Promoting peer small groups for lifelong learning
  • Encouraging reflection on learning

Examples of projects include:

  • The use of social media to augment small group learning
  • Small-group approach to learning
  • Creation of a tool to enhance Practice-Based Learning
Eligibility criteria

Applicants must be Family Medicine Residents currently enrolled in a Canadian Family Medicine Residency or Enhanced Skills training program.

Judging criteria

Projects will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Originality, innovation, and contribution to scholarship around small group learning
  • The approach to the assessment of the project goals, including methods and results

The resident(s) whose work is selected as the winning project will each be offered a 1-year free membership* (after graduation) to either The Small Group Practice-Based Learning Program, or The Individual Practice-Based Learning Program, and awarded one $500 cash prize (to be shared by project group members).
The next 2 top projects, the recipient(s) will each receive a 1-year free membership* to one of the two above mentioned programs after graduation.
*Free Membership needs to be used within a year of graduation

Application process
  • The application window opens on February 1, 2024
  • Applications must be completed and sent in by April 30, 2024 to
  • Notification of results will take place by email in June 2024

For more information please contact: Carole Dermody, Program Administrator at

2023 Winners

Top Winners: Drs. Mariela Fleury de Marquez and Leila Badr
(nominated by Dr. Alan Ng, University of Ottawa)

2nd Place: Drs. Sean To and Jonathan Zeng (University of Ottawa)

3rd Place: Dr. Hilari MacLeod (nominated by Dr. Laura Sadler, Dalhousie University)

Past Award Winners

2022: Drs. Gabrielle Erickson, Nathan Kyryluk, and Jay West (University of British Columbia)

2021: Dr. Melody Ng (University of Toronto)

2020: Dr. Liam Crummey (University of Toronto) 

2019: Dr. Kristen Timm (University of Alberta)