Menu Close

Residents Scholarship Award

PBLP Family Medicine Residents Scholarship Award

The PBLP (Practice-Based Learning Program) Family Medicine Residents Scholarship Award is to recognize an outstanding scholarly project by FM Resident(s) in the area of small group learning through research, quality improvement, or education program development.

Projects that align with the following goals of Residency Practice-Based Learning will be favoured:

  • Embedding evidence based educational principles
  • Promoting peer small groups for life-long learning
  • Encouraging reflection on learning

Examples of projects are:

  • The use of social media to augment small group learning
  • Small group approach to learning
  • Creation of a tool to enhance Practice-Based Learning

Eligibility criteria

Applicants must be a Family Medicine Residents currently enrolled in a Canadian Family Medicine Residency or Enhanced Skills training program.

Judging criteria

Projects will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Originality, innovation, and contribution to scholarship around small group learning
  • On the approach to the assessment of the project goals


The resident(s) whose work is selected as the winning project will each be offered a free membership to either The Pathway to Small Group PBLP, The Small Group Practice-Based Learning Program, or The Individual Practice-Based Learning Program, and one $500 cash prize.

The next 2 top projects, the recipient(s) will each receive a free membership to one of the three above mentioned programs after graduation.

Application process

The application window has now closed for 2023.

Notification of results will take place by email in June 2023.

For more information please contact:

Carole Dermody, Program Administrator at

2023 Winners

Top Winners: Drs. Mariela Fleury de Marquez and Leila Badr
(nominated by Dr. Alan Ng, University of Ottawa)

2nd Place: Drs. Sean To and Jonathan Zeng (University of Ottawa)

3rd Place: Dr. Hilari MacLeod (nominated by Dr. Laura Sadler, Dalhousie University)

Past Award Winners

2022: Drs. Gabrielle Erickson, Nathan Kyryluk, and Jay West (University of British Columbia)

2021: Dr. Melody Ng (University of Toronto)

2020: Dr. Liam Crummey (University of Toronto) 

2019: Dr. Kristen Timm (University of Alberta)